Posted by: drewdice | June 15, 2009

Life Lessons and Doing the Right Thing

Each day, one of my goals is to make a positive difference in the lives of the people I touch, lead, meet and with whom I connect (including my beautiful wife and family).

My mother’s birthday is tomorrow (she also came for a visit this past weekend), and as I thought about her today, I couldn’t help but think about how she has been the biggest role model, positive force, and inspiration in my life. Because the Human Learning Blog is very personal to me, and I enjoy sharing parts of my world with all of you, it makes sense for me to share some of these thoughts, as well.

Throughout our lives, we all need anchors, beacons of light, and mentors who help to give shape to who we are, and who we can become. My mother has always been these things, and more to me. So, today, I’ll share some of the life lessons I’ve learned from her. I’d love for you to share some of the life lessons you’ve learned from the positive forces in your life.

Do the right thing: This is not easy to do, and often causes temporary and massive pain to you or people you know. In the long run, there is no doubt that this is the right strategy

Tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth: Growing up, I had a challenge with this one. I can’t tell you how many times my mom tried to explain that she’d never love me any less if I messed up or made a mistake. If I lied, however, there wasn’t very much she could do to help me. Half-truths don’t count. This was a hard one for me to digest, but I learned (and still sometimes learn) the impact that this has on people about whom I care deeply

Trust in the human spirit: Maybe this wasn’t exactly how she phrased it, but I’ve always believed that there is good in humans, and that it is my responsibility to bring the best out of others (through humor, sharing, caring, and sometimes, just listening or paying attention to others). I often get odd looks as I speak to complete strangers, but I don’t really care. What I care about is making a difference in someone’s day. You never know when that person may need it most

Express Yourself: As I mentioned in a previous post, this one was also (and still is sometimes) tough for me. Expressing what is on your mind, and freeing your mind and soul from the burdens of bottling thoughts, is not only liberating, but gives me the space and energy to tackle massive challenges every day, without feeling overwhelmed. Each person finds the best way to express him/herself, and I can’t underscore the importance of this. If you catch me messing up here, please remind me of my own advice!

These are just a few of my favorites, and there are many more. So, help me celebrate my mother’s birthday, and please share some of your favorites!

Cheers,

Andrew

Responses

  1. Andrew,
    Thanks for sharing some great thoughts on life lessons and doing the right thing. I have a favorite of my own—-always believe the best about the people around you. We all make judgment calls about the people we know and we have a choice whether to dwell on the good in someone or the not so good. I strive to always believe the best about those around me and concentrate on their positive attributes.
    Judy


Leave a Reply

Categories

