Posted by: drewdice | March 5, 2010

How do you know?

I’m not sure when or where it started, but my wife and I have come to play a game that I call “How do you know?”

When we were dating, I think she first asked me this in the context of a work situation, and then in the context of our friends, and as our relationship, this grew into the realms of where our future was heading (getting married, our future together, etc). Each of us initiates the game, and usually, it comes out of nowhere.

It has come to be one of my favorite games of all time, and creates memories for me everytime we play (there is no official start to the game, by the way, it just happens in conversation). We are fast approaching our next wedding anniversary, and so I got to reflecting (always dangerous), and will play a public version of “How do you know?” with you all. This one is “How do I know I will love JoAnn forever?”

My heart races every time she walks in the room
I see her and love her for her true spirit and gifts she offers the world, and fall in love with that, and her, over and over
She energizes my spirit and nourishes my soul
She loves me for all of my faults and quirks, and there are many…
She tells me like it is, regardless of whether I want to hear it or not
She has an inner beauty and glow that shines brighter than the stars or sun; this pulls me to her like the most powerful magnetic attraction
We laugh constantly
We cry openly
Our core values match
She inspires me
I wake every day, motivated to make her proud and to build a legacy with her
My skin tingles when she touches me
I often still get lost in looking at her from across the room
She has a magical way of lifting me up when I am down, and don’t want to be around any other human beings
She pushes me constantly to be a better me
She supports me, right or wrong, good times or bad, and we figure it out together
She laughs (sometimes) at my really bad jokes

Every day, I wake up, excited to fall in love with her all over again; and I do.

That is how I know.

Responses

  1. This is a wonderful, inspirational song of love! Thanks for sharing it, Drewdice!

    • Thanks Rob.

      I’m much better at songs on paper than singing them out loud (at least that is what my listeners tell me).

      I always appreciate your comments and feedback

  2. That’s really beautiful and inspiring, Andrew, you are both very lucky!

    • Thanks Paula.

      I think I’m the lucky one here. Hope all is well in your world, and that the year is off to a strong start for you.

      Cheers,

      Andrew


Leave a Reply

Categories

